Texas Teen Drivers Insurance Rates
One of the most exciting rites of passage for teenagers is getting a driver’s license. However, for parents, adding a teen on the car-insurance policy will drive up the cost of the family premiums considerably.
In Texas, a married couple’s car insurance premium will go up by an average of 71 percent after adding a teen driver to their policy.
However, what parents in Texas may not know is that a 71 percent increase is actually the ninth-lowest increase in the country, and lower than the national average of 84 percent.
Parents in Arkansas pay the highest insurance premium increase for teen drivers at 116.34 percent, followed by parents in Utah (114.62 percent), Wyoming (112.11 percent), Alabama (110.6 percent) and Idaho (106.74 percent).
Surprisingly, parents in Hawaii pay the least to add their teens to their policies (18.1 percent). That’s because Hawaii state law does not permit insurers to consider age, gender or length of driving experience when determining what to charge premiums.
Do you have a teen driver and think your rate raised too much? Let us help you. Give Pan American Insurance a call today at 888-726-3380 for a free El Paso Auto Insurance quote.